Posted by: Rebekah | Thursday, 20 January, 2011

You Capture – Circles

Recently I came upon a blog, I should be folding the Laundry, which I really loved but it was the ‘You Capture’, that really got my attention.  I’m not much of a photographer, just the usual happy snaps of family, etc but after reading the guidelines I thought I could do this.  

So that being said this is my first post for ‘You Capture’, last week it was all about ‘Doors’, this week  it is all about ‘Circles’.  I had no idea what I could possibly take a photo of that was of circles until I saw this…..

A bowl of Circles
Deadly Serious at Darling Harbour

Each year a friend of mine puts on a big feast of Indian food (Indian Night), for all the Street Performers that are in town, Sydney that is.  Both of our husbands are Street Performers/Entertainers, they do this for a living. These are the people who entertain you at  Darling Harbour or Circular Quay, almost every weekend, juggling fire on 9ft Unicycles & doing other death-defying feats & all they ask is for a small payment in return for their performance…OK maybe I exaggerated about the death-defying part, but the rest is true. 

At any rate I digress… every year we have this big feast and this year was no exception, with 10 different dishes on the menu there was something for everyone.   

Menu
3 Bean Dhal, Beef Vindaloo, Butter Chicken, Lamb do Piaza, Spinach and Pumpkin Curry, Fish Kofta, Prawn Patia, Tofu Vindaloo, Crunchy Potatoes Bengali-Style, Pineapple Curry & of cause Pompudoms.

Indian Night

Now I believe it is all about interpretation and thus I have included these Pots of curries cooking into the ‘Circles’ category as well.

Needles to say a fantastic time was had by all & with a recovery time of another 24hrs,  I can’t wait until next year when we get to do it all over again. 

While I wouldn’t say these are the greatest photos I’m sure my skills will improve over time.

 Why not check out some other ‘Circle’ photos here

Responses

  1. Circles filled with yummy food it looks like!

  2. Oh my goodness – next year will you invite ME?!?! That Indian food looks WONDERFUL – yum!! I love that first photo, but can’t for the life of me figure out what it is (other than COOL!)! Great captures!

  3. Beautiful shot of the bowl!

  4. Oh, that all sounds so good! I would love to learn to cook indian food!

  5. What an interesting first shot! Very cool!

  6. Great shot! Great idea for the challenge. Love it!


Leave a Reply

Categories

