Posted by: Rebekah | Tuesday, 25 January, 2011

Trips Away

Why is it the more excited one person get about something the more anxious another gets??

Deadly Serious in Edinburgh

To explain a little more, you see my husband is a Street Entertainer/Performer, this is his career and he loves it, he should he’s been doing it for 20 years now.  Part of the life of a Street Entertainer is for them to travel both within Australia & overseas.  I guess its like a Pro Surfer following the surf, a Pro Snowboarder following the snow or even a Pro Golfer following the tournaments around the world.  Well my husband follows the Festivals (& people who travel to them).

In a couple of days he will be off to Auckland, New Zealand and this will be his first trip outside Australia in years and the first for us as a couple (& family).  He will only be gone for 5 days but within 3 1/2 months he will be gone again but this time it will be for 3 1/2 months.  Now I under stand this is part of his job & that in order to grow as a Performer he must go, but it’s hard.  Did I mention that he hasn’t been overseas for approximately 8 years & never while we have been together (5 years), so you can imagine that he would be incredibly nervous as well as excited.

Deadly Serious ~ Darling Harbour

I have been fortune enough to have him around most days & nights since we have been together.  His first real trip away was the Adelaide Festival last April (2010) & I even managed to stay with him for a week of the 3 weeks away.  Which I really enjoyed & it helped me to gain an insight into what happens while these entertainers are away working & it is definitely work!!!

Unfortunately or fortunately, I’m not sure which, I will not be along during this time, you see we have 3 children, 13 years, 11 years & 2 years.  So this will make me a Single Mum for the time he is away.  It’s not the a job I haven’t done before, only then I just had 2 children.  There is something different about being a single parent after a relations breakdown and being a single parent because work takes your partner away.

My beautiful children

I know I’m not the only one who had to go through this, there are so many many people who live this way, the Defense force & the Mining industry to name just a couple, my hat goes off to these amazing people.  I know that in order for you to get through the separation you must have support, but what do you do if you don’t have or it is very limited?

You see I don’t have support from my family (to speak of), especially after recent events, which I won’t go into here.  My closest friends, although they have & will offer to help, are limited in capacity, not for want of trying, just due to distance, etc. 

I remember as a Single Mum the hardest thing for me was not having that Adult/Partner to take to pressure off at the end of the day, just by cooking dinner, taking the kids out for a few hours or even just asking how your day was.

I guess it is hard when he is so excited about going & wants to tell me where he is going & what he’ll be doing.  Believe me I want to know these things too, but I just can’t get excited about it.  

I’m sure that the time leading up to the separation is probably going to be much worse than the actual time apart.  I also have no doubt that as much as he is looking forward to going, he will miss us as much as we will miss him.

I’ve been told to have projects to keep myself busy, which I’m starting to organise, one of them being this Blog.  Another project I will have while he is away will be planning both a holiday for the 2 of us upon his return as well as a trip away for me alone.  Just need to find a load more projects. 

I know I will survive & get thought this time, I always do, it’s in my nature.  In the meant time I’ll just keep smiling and listening to Lucky by Jason Mraz & Colbie Caillat

Responses

  1. Being away from your partner is always difficult. It’s great to have projects but I would check out local community centres and libraries. They usually have plenty of things happening where you might be able to connect with someone in your neighbourhood.

    Make the most of the time you do have together. 🙂

  2. Jason Mraz ROCKS!! mwah

    xo Steph


Leave a Reply

Categories

