Posted by: Rebekah | Sunday, 6 February, 2011

Just another job or changing careers?

When is it too late to change your career? Is there a time when you have to settle for what you have and not dream? I don’t think it’s ever too late for anything…

Toward the end of this year I will be 38 years and as much as this scares me it is not for the reasons most would assume.  You see as much as I am happy with my personal life, ie, Husband, Children, home, my career life is far from where I want or have wanted it to be.

Most, well to be honest All, of my working life I have fallen into my jobs, from barmaid to Sandwich hand to Administration to my current occupation Massage.  You’d be amazed at some of the things I’ve done. I have even worked in the shearing shed as a Roustabout, so as you can see I’ve never been afraid of hard work.  I have enjoyed most of my jobs but nothing has really kept me interested for long.

I as mentioned before, my current job is a Remedial Massage Therapist, which I have to say I do enjoy.  I love the feeling I get when someone walks in having pain in a particular area only to walk out after an hour of massage feeling the best they have in some time, it is such a buzz.  But even with all this it’s not something I can see myself doing for the rest of my life.

So I guess you’re wondering what I really want to do with the rest of my life…I want to Perform!!!

When I was a child I studied ballet, character & jazz dance for many years.  I added music, vocal & piano, when I was a teenager.  I loved it and while I was never the lead in any production at school I loved being involved.  There was a few years, BC (Before Children), that I even danced for a living and I was quite good, well good enough to make a living.

But after my children it was an unseemly occupation and it was implied that I needed to get a REAL job, so I did, many REAL jobs.  😦

Now, as I have mentioned before, my husband is a Street Performer/Entertainer, Deadly, and has been for over 25 years.  He has been an inspiration for many a Street Performer/Entertainer.  He has been lucky enough, with lots of hard work, to continue to do what he loves doing even through the personal hard times and the ‘Get a real job’ jibes.  I, on the other had have always allowed others to influence me and my decisions.  I find it funny that I’ve constantly been told that I’m a strong person who once I get something stuck in my head I don’t let it go, yet I have always put my real passion off to the side.

Well, that is now in the past!!!  I have been with my husband for over 5 years now and have been incredibly lucky to have him around for most of that time but in order for him to continue to grow as a performer he must travel both locally and overseas.  While I can accept the fact that this is part of his job, I can’t help but feel like I am missing out on such a large part of him & his life, so in order for me (and our children occasionally) to travel with him I must join in!!  You know what they say ‘If you can’t beat them, join them’ and that is exactly what I’m planning on doing!

It’s not really that far-fetched that I would want to perform after all I am a Leo and there are a number of famous performers around my birthday such as Madonna, Mae West, Robert De Niro.  While I don’t see myself becoming worldwide famous like these people, I do belive I can become well know enough to make a living and travel with my husband doing something I love.

So, what do I need to do, well I have dance and music in my background but I need to add circus skills in, as well as general performance skills.  What can I do??  I can do a number of things, all at a basic level only and certainly not at a level good enough to perform.

I can;

  • juggle 3 scarves
  • juggle 3 balls
  • hoola hoop
  • use Poi (both fire and non-fire)
  • Pole dance
  • Hat tricks
  • Acro-balance

But in order to be a strong performer such as, Tullulah, and not be the token female performer, I need to be able to do a lot more.  So in order for this to happen I have given myself 12 months to get my skills up to scratch in order to perform.  I will be adding Stilt Walking, club juggling & whip cracking to the skills I have, as well as honing the skills I already have.

I’m still unsure as to how well I’ll be able to do but if I’m as strong-willed as others tell me I am, it will all work out.  Now I just need to remember that everything takes time and I won’t be at a performance level straight away…  enthusiasm one of my greatest assets, with impatience being one of my worst.  🙂

Over the coming months I hope to bring you progress on where I am at.  Well, I better go and order those stilts and get training…I guess the worst thing that could happen is that I totally bomb out but I gain some fantastic party tricks 😀

««»»

“Nobody can go back and start a new beginning, but anyone can start today and make a new ending.”
~  Maria Robinson ~

Responses

  1. I know what to get you for your birthday now… performance props!! Wonder if I can make any? Aim high and achieve your dreams! It is never too late!!

    xo Steph

  2. Sounds like a wonderful idea to join your husband and then be able to travel with him. I wish you all the best over the coming year in meeting and exceeding your goals. Be the best that you can be 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

